There is only one go-to cookie recipe in the Yorkshire Pudding household and that is because everyone who tries them, loves them. My sister-in-law enjoyed them so much she requested the recipe for her Christmas present one year. I duly stayed up and baked two batches in the short sleep my then 5-month old had, put them in a jar and decorated it with ribbons and tags. I attached the hand-written recipe and went to get some sleep myself.

When I woke the next morning the cookie jar was half-full. My husband tried to tell me they had sunk in the night but these are not the sinking sort of cookies. They are the eating sort. It turns out our house guest had found the cookies in the middle of the night and, thinking they were just fancy-dressed cookies on the side, ate half of them.

These are addictive cookies and beautifully simple to make. Perhaps the best part about them is they can easily be adapted. This is from Abel & Cole

125g wholemeal flour

150g jumbo oats

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

pinch of salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

100g light brown sugar

4 tbsp agave

1 large carrot grated

100ml olive or coconut oil

100g chopped dried fruit

100g chopped nuts and seeds

zest of 1 lemon

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

Mix together flour, oats, salt and bicarb. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Scoop out the mixture into rounds onto a baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 mins and leave to cool.

